Home > Seminars > Switchable and Tunable Ferroelectric Devices for Adaptive and Reconfigurable RF Circuits

Switchable and Tunable Ferroelectric Devices for Adaptive and Reconfigurable RF Circuits


2/14/2019 at 2:00PM


2/14/2019 at 3:00PM


116 O’Shaughnessy Hall


College of Engineering close button

Jonathan Chisum

Jonathan Chisum

VIEW FULL PROFILE Email: jchisum@nd.edu
Phone: 574-631-3915
Website: https://ee.nd.edu/research-lab-websites/microwave
Office: 226A Cushing Hall
Curriculum Vitae


College of Engineering Assistant Professor
Wireless Institute Assistant Professor
Jonathan's main research interest is in millimeter-wave circuits and antennas for wideband wireless communications systems. He is interested in maximizing RF performance metrics of efficiency and linearity in amplifiers, beamforming arrays, and overall transceivers. Jonathan is also interested in ...
Click for more information about Jonathan
Add to calendar:
iCal vCal

This presentation is on the applications of ferroelectric thin film barium strontium titanate (BST) for the design of frequency agile radios.  BST is a low loss, high dielectric constant field dependent multifunctional material. The electric field dependence of BST has been employed to design tunable RF and microwave devices and components. Another important property of BST is its DC electric field induced piezoelectric or electrostrictive effect. These properties are utilized to design intrinsically switchable film bulk acoustic wave resonators (FBARs) and FBAR filters. Switchable ferroelectric based filter banks can significantly reduce size and power consumption of conventional filter banks employed in frequency agile radios. Design of several BST based adaptive and reconfigurable RF circuits will be presented.

Seminar Speaker:

Dr. Amir Mortazawi

Dr. Amir Mortazawi

University of Michigan at Ann Arbor

Amir Mortazawi received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from The University of Texas at Austin, in 1990. He is currently a Professor of electrical engineering with The University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. His research interests include microwave and millimeter-wave circuits, phased arrays, power amplifiers, ferroelectric thin film based devices and frequency-agile microwave circuits.

 Mortazawi was the Editor-in-Chief for the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques from 2006-2010. He served on the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (IEEE MTT-S) Administrative Committee (AdCom) for eight years. Mortazawi served as the Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation (1998–2001) and IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques (2005). He is currently chairing the Distinguished Microwave Selection Committee for the MTT-S. He received the IEEE MTT-S distinguished educator award in 2018. Mortazawi is a Fellow of IEEE