Home > Articles > ChEErs

IEEE Student Club Officers for 2017: Vice President: Kevin Yokum, Outreach Director: Mark Etzelmueller, President: Linda Gong, Secretary: Stephen Jackson & Vice President: Natasha Anbalagan


Written by: Leslie Lestinsky

NDEE would like to recognize the members of the student Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) chapter. They were named Club of the Year by the Club Coordination Council (subset of student government and student activity office).

Outgoing President, Senior EE Linda Gong sang these praises for the group's leaders, "Whether an IEEE or HKN Officer (or both), these students have helped create a wonderful community amongst the EE/CPEG students. Just two years ago, IEEE/HKN was barely active on campus and virtually unknown. Through everyone's hard work and efforts, many great events and activities for our classmates and younger students have been hosted. During the awards presentation, the Club Coordination Council specifically mentioned our work in bringing together faculty and students. IEEE/HKN could not have done this without the dedication of these students. I thank them for being wonderful club officers and club advisors. They have a huge hand in making EE a welcoming and engaging environment."

Current Officers:

Stephen Jackson
Daniel Currie and Christian Femrite (HKN Only)

Abby Greentree
Nick Jones (HKN Only)
Juliette Garcia-Flahaut (Fall 2018 Only)
Tansy Wang (Fall 2018 Only)

Outreach Directors:
Mark Etzelmueller
Chris Mulholland

Andy Fang
Simon Kiang-Hinajosa
Stephen Jackson (HKN Only)

Yann Gilpin
Jose Montalvo

Apparel Officers:
Fernanda Urteaga
James Weitzel

Freshmen Representative:
James Libbey


Outgoing Officers:

Linda Gong (IEEE and HKN)
Michael Sander (HKN Only)

Natasha Anbalagan
Anthony Calvo
Kevin Yokum (HKN Only)
Stephen Jackson
John Speier
Apparel Commissioner:
Tansy Wang

IEEE Faculty Advisor: Dr. Vijay Gupta
HKN Faculty Advisor: Dr. Scott Howard

Photo Credit: Linda Gong