Two Notre Dame Engineering profs elected as AAAS lifetime fellows

Yih-Fang Huang and Ahsan Kareem

Yih-Fang Huang, professor of electrical engineering and senior associate dean for education and undergraduate programs, and Ahsan Kareem, the Robert M. Moran Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences, have been elected by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) as lifetime fellows.

Huang is being honored for contributions to the field of adaptive filtering and its applications to wireless communications and distributed sensor networks. His expertise includes statistical communications and signal processing, signal detection and estimation, parameter estimation, adaptive and array signal processing, interference suppression for wireless communications, set-membership filtering and identification. He is an affiliated member of ND Energy and a life fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Kareem is being recognized for his contributions and achievements in advancing the safety and resilience of civil infrastructure exposed to natural hazards. Kareem is director of the NatHaz Modeling Laboratory. His research includes using synergistic approaches such as computer models, laboratory and full-scale experiments to better understand and predict the impact of natural hazards on the constructed environment and to develop measures to enhance their performance.

AAAS is the world’s largest multidisciplinary scientific society and a leading publisher of the Science family of journals. Fellows have been elected since1874 and their ranks include such well-known scientists and innovators as Thomas Edison, W.E.B DuBois, Maria Mitchell, Steven Chu, Ellen Ochoa and Irwin M. Jacobs. 

— Karla Cruise, Notre Dame Engineering